GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Departmental organization includes Realty, Program Planning and Development, Design, Finance and Management, Technological Research and Development Branches, Policy Research, Personnel Administration, Administrative Services, Program Management Evaluation, Public Relations and Information Services, and Customer Relations Divisions. The Dominion Fire Commissioner's office also operates under the authority of the Minister of Public Works.

Department of Regional Economic Expansion. This Department was established in 1969 (RSC 1970, c.R-4). Its function is to ensure that economic growth is dispersed widely enough across Canada to bring employment and earning opportunities in the slow-growth regions as close as possible to those in the other parts of the country, without interfering with a high over-all rate of national growth. The legislation authorizes the Department, in co-operation with provincial governments and other federal agencies, to prepare development plans and programs designed to meet the special needs of particular areas.

The Department has six major divisions, each under the control of an Assistant Deputy Minister: Planning and Co-ordination, Administration, and the Eastern, Quebec, Ontario and Western regional divisions. A major program provides development incentives to industry, in the form of cash grants, to encourage new productive employment in designated regions where such employment has been scarce. The Department is also responsible for programs under the Agricultural and Rural Development Act (ARDA); the Fund for Rural Economic Development (FRED); the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Act (PFRA) which is concerned with land-use adjustment, water development projects and the establishment of tree shelterbelts; and the Special Areas Program.

Following a comprehensive policy review, the Department has developed a new approach of General Development Agreements to implement its programs. These are 10-year agreements, now signed with all provinces except Prince Edward Island (covered under FRED until 1984), which are buttressed by specific subsidiary agreements that identify joint actions to be initiated. Existing programs now are administered from regional offices at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto and Saskatoon.

The Minister of Regional Economic Expansion reports to Parliament for the Cape Breton Development Corporation. He is advised by the Atlantic Development Council on programs and policies for fostering economic development and social adjustment in the Atlantic region, and by the Canadian Council on Rural Development on rural development programming and policy nationally.

Department of the Secretary of State. The duties, powers and functions of the Secretary of State of Canada (RSC 1970, c.S-15) extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: citizenship; elections; State ceremonial, the conduct of State correspondence and the custody of State records and documents; the encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

The responsibilities of the Department of the Secretary of State include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: Education Support, Research and Liaison; Language Programs; Arts and Culture, including State Protocol and Special Events; Translation Bureau; Citizenship Registration; Citizenship Programs, including multiculturalism, native citizens, women, citizenship participation, official language minority groups, human rights and travel and exchange.

The Secretary of State reports to Parliament for the Canadian Film Development Corporation, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Museums of Canada, the Canada Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Company of Young Canadians and the Public Service Commission and acts as spokesman for the Office of the Representation Commissioner. In addition, the Secretary of State is responsible for the financial and administrative affairs of the Bilingual Districts Advisory Board.

Department of the Solicitor General. Before 1936, the Office of the Solicitor General was either a Cabinet post or a Ministerial post outside the Cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the Office being wholly absorbed by the Attorney General of Canada. The Solicitor General Act, 1945 reestablished the Solicitor General as a Cabinet officer and provided that "the Solicitor General shall assist the Minister of Justice in the Counsel work of the Department of Justice, and shall be charged with such other duties as are at any time assigned to him by the Governor-in-Council". This legislation was repealed in 1966 when a new Department of the Solicitor General was created (RSC 1970, c.S-12); the Solicitor and law enforcement. He is responsible for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Canadian Penitentiary Service and also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board, which is an independent agency.

Department of Supply and Services. The Department of Supply and Services was established on April 1, 1969 (RSC 1970, c.S-18) to furnish certain services previously provided by other departments, in line with the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization (Glassco Commission)